Ayurveda Yoga Shop About Dosha/Guna CONTRIBUTE

Nurture your body                Balance your mind

What To Expect from the Dosha/Guna Quiz

The Dosha/Guna quiz consists of 30 comprehensive questions- 20 for the Dosha (body balance) and 10 for the Guna (mind assessment) which are easy multiple choice questions to select from. Average expected length of time to take the quiz is approximately 7 minutes. At the end of the quiz you will get your result and what needs to be followed if you are out of balance. We suggest you take the Dosha/Guna quiz once a week to check in with your body and mind and to see if there are any differences from the week before.

What are Doshas?

Dosha means elements. There are 5 elements that everything in the world is created from.

These are Ether, Air, Fire, Water and Earth. In Ayurveda we group elements together to only mention 3. Ether/Air, Fire/Water, Earth/Water. These are called Vata, Pitta and Kapha.

Your body and mind’s health are determined by how balanced your elements are and how much they move around. The more balance of air, fire and earth you have the more health you will enjoy.

Here is a short explanation of Dosha traits.

The element of air is responsible for movement. Our Vata energy helps us to explore creativity and inquisitiveness, express ourselves, and remain in motion. When excessive, Vata energy can cause dry skin, insomnia, constipation, and various nervous disorders.

The element of fire is responsible for transformation. Our Pitta energy drives us to achieve, accomplish goals, and exhibit fiery qualities like passion and anger. When excessive, Pitta energy can cause indigestion, liver complaints, bloating, fatigue, and other ailments.

The element of earth is responsible for grounding. Our Kapha energy helps us to feel grounded, facilitates our nurturing of others, and helps us exhibit a calming presence in stressful situations. When excessive, Kapha energy can cause weight gain, diabetes, and a feeling of lethargy.

What are Gunas?

When an Ayurvedic practitioner diagnoses a patient’s conditions and observes their general health, they will use the relationship of the patient’s three doshas to determine how best to proceed with achieving and sustaining greater health in the body.

While this tradition assigns these three doshas to our bodies and constitutions, it also assigns three different qualities to the mind. These three qualities are known as Gunas, and while doshas relate to our basic nature, gunas relate to our thought process and the qualities of our mind.  The three gunas are rajas, tamas, and sattva.

The rajas mind is active, intense, and has the potential to become incendiary and aggressive. Those with a raja-like mind are prone to argument and can be challenging but also very focused with a one pointed mind.

The tamas mind is lethargic, slow, and has the potential to become negative and destructive. Those with a tamas-like mind are prone to disengaging from situations and becoming lazy but also being easy going too.

The sattva mind is balanced and pure. When a person finds a sense of truth and light in their life, they are more open to creating sattvic qualities in their mind. Many people might perpetuate sattvic qualities in any given moment, but truly sattvic people are particularly rare as the mind tends to move through all three gunas.

Nurture your body. Balance your mind.


Get your weekly digest of Yogic and Ayurvedic healing remedies, guidance and support 



Receive our weekly email digest with the latest content from Yogi Cameron & Yogini Jaima